Running on Empty CD (1977)

Jackson Browne's Running on Empty CD.

Release: December 6, 1977

Record Co: Elektra/Asylum

    Track Listing:
  1. Running On Empty
  2. 2The Road
  3. Rosie
  4. You Love The Thunder
  5. Cocaine
  6. Shaky Town
  7. Love Needs A Heart
  8. Nothing But Time
  9. The Load-Out
  10. Stay

This time, Browne has consciously created a documentary, as brightly prosaic as it is darkly poetic, with a keen eye for the mundane as well as the magical. Running on Empty is a live album of new material about life on the road as conceived and recorded by a band of touring musicians in the places they spend most of their time (onstage, backstage, in hotel rooms, even on the bus). Since there are two separate concepts here, the audience gets an unprecedented double feature: ten songs they've never heard Browne sing, and a behind-the-scenes look at "the show they didn't see."

As impressed as I am with Jackson Browne's art, I'm even more impressed with the humanity that shines through it. Maybe they're inseparable, but I doubt it. (RS 258-260)

- Paul Nelson, Rolling Stone, 1978


Weight: 5

Reference: JBCD05